Idiosyncratic LSAT

An Introduction to The Way

The content of the LSAT is self-teachable. You can learn syllogisms and game types and notations and LR question types and so on from a few books or via a test prep provider.1 

But…

You still miss questions, right? You review them and understand why you were wrong. And then you miss the same amount of questions again and again and again. And you’re frustrated and it’s awful and you don’t know how to break the plateau…

And…

And that’s where a lot of people end. Frustrated and stuck until the day of the exam (and that’s their emotional energy as they wake up on test day). Frustrated and stuck, because no one can explain how to score higher.

Try something new. Something different! Study with me and I’ll teach how I went reached 172 in two months of self-prep, and to a 179 three months later. I broke my own plateaus, let me teach you to break yours.

And, in a few particular cases (like rule substitutions in LR), I’ll teach you a completely different approach to answering that question that, I guarantee, is less error-prone and more time efficient than what you’re using. That post should be up next week.

RC Training Exercises: Argumentative Headers(locked until Friday, March 31)

Even though RC is thought of nigh impossible to improve, this exercise has led my beta-testing students past months-long RC plateaus. The core concept is simple: you read a paragraph, you draft a legal style header for that paragraph. It has to stay under 20 words.

[coming soon]

The Easy Way to Answer Rule Substitutions!

It’s called the Forbidden Combination Test. I came up with that name and I really like it, so don’t be critical, OK?

[Really close to finished!]

Cost

I charge $200/90 minutes. I vastly prefer we work in 90 minute sessions; 60 minutes often feels rushed, and prevents deeper dives into the subject material.

I will always create a validating and supportive learning environment. Comfort and trust in your instructor play a major role in learning and memory retention. My job is to train you to score higher. Making you feel anxious or embarrassed is both shitty and, according to all available research, bad for improving.

[more coming soon]

I am a transwoman. Just want to get people with issues screened out asap. Also, many transwoman do not have the safety, or desire, to be identified.

I exist, and we exist.

The Part that Is a Joke

Show me where the last 10 kilos are stashed...No I’m not threatening you, it’s just like, a really strong request...Ok, I see how it could come off as a threat. I’m sorry, ok?…What’ll happen if you don’t find me the cocaine?…Yeah I will actually kill you, probably, so I guess it was a threat.…Yes, we’ve talked about being more honest and direct in the past.…Look, I felt weird and I didn’t want to threaten you like that, so I was more opaque, ok?….Well yeah… I don’t feed good about this. We’re buds.…Where is it?…oh no

halp