#escapebiglaw

Embrace your addictions, love yourself, and don't let them frighten you.

THIS IS #THESPICIESTBIGLAWESCAPE SUBTITLED: #ADDICTION + #NUMBTHEPAIN + #ESCAPINGTHEPLAYPRETEND

Part I: BIGLAW KEEPS YOU ADDICTED AND IN FEAR

#Biglaw doesn't want you to be #fancy. They want you #addicted. They want your billable hours. Throw off your shackles by embracing your addictions. I will still love you. We all will.

#CANTGOHOMEALONEGAIN #NEEDSOMEONE #TONUMBTHEPAIN #STAYINGINYOURPLAYPRETEND #WHERETHEFUNNEVERBEGINS#CANTGOHOMEALONEGAIN #NEEDSOMEONE #TONUMBTHEPAINYou've gotta stay high... All the time...

What are you addicted to? We’re all addicts. Basically all.

Staying in my play pretend

Where the fun ain't got no end

Ooh

Can't go home alone again

Need someone to numb the pain

For years I was addicted to:

  1. Nicotine (various forms).

  2. Marijuana for stress relief and numbness.

  3. ADHD medications (#misdiagnosedfordecades, it exacerbates bipolar issues)

  4. #attaboys (#biglaw #attaboys)

  5. Relationship support (I relied way too much on partners).

  6. Avoidance of reality through #videogames.

  7. Depression (you can be addicted to the void).

During my time in #biglaw, I met all sorts of addicts. And only a few mentally healthy and stable people, especially among partners.

I gotta stay, I gotta stay

High... And it's ok. We understand why.

It’s ok to be an addict. We love you. We will support you.

I found love and support, and empathy.

#management keeps you trapped by making you scared of expressing yourself in public.

Don’t let them bully you into silence.

PART II: #Changeyourlife #Embraceyouraddictions

#imachangeit #usedtodealingwithbasicbitches this is #anewclassic #upgradeyourstatus

#hoppedonfromapastlife #torenovateyourfuture #jointventure #partnerup

My dream started with #unionizebiglaw. The first step to make our daily world a better and more egalitarian place.

As a society, our ethics problems started when we forgot that we were meant to be better than business. Business is not the end/all/be/all. And the legal community was meant to stand above business and regulate its conduct.

BUT WHO WATCHES THE WATCHMEN?

We were supposed to be answerable to the Model Rules of Professional Conduct.

Once you go great, you never go good

You never go back, even if you could

I'll show you my way, I got that good-good

You never go back, even if you could

Have you ever wished your life would change?Woke up and you lived your dreamsBaby, I could help you make that changeI could show you how to do this thing

So, how did I escape #biglaw?

I looked for a template…

Now that’s a #truestory.

Part III: A Template for Escape

Here’s a simple truth: the only thing #boomers care about more than money is ego.

Ok, I’ll spell it out: Information Technology Security consists of:

  • Technology Security (A System’s Ability to Repulse Technological Attacks)

  • Information Security (A System’s Ability to Become #Antimemetic)

Man, I'm up to something (up to something), ooh-dee-la-dee-doh

Thank you all for comin' (all for coming), I hope you like the show

'Cause it's on a budget, so ooh-dee-la-dee-doh

Yeah, come on here we go, yeah, come on (here we go)

How secure are your secrets really?

Feel like I'm gonna puke 'cause my taxes are due

Do my password begin with a one or a two?

Been a hell of a ride but I'm thinkin' it's time to grow

#truth, #visibility, and #pushpulldynamics…

So put your best face on, everybody

Pretend you know this song, everybody

Come hang

Let's go out with a bang