#depressionisterrifying

Some reflections

As I continue to grapple with my own mental health, I just wanted to say:

Depression is terrifying from the inside

I don’t think this is understood well by people without mood disorders.

  • I wake up each morning with a pit of anxiety in my stomach

  • I have to force myself to eat breakfast

  • I’ve lost interest in hobbies and activities that once delighted, amused, and interested me.

  • It takes genuine willpower to practice even basic self-care.

But the most terrifying thing is that I’m aware that these things are happening and the only thing I can do is to be patient, take my medication, and continue therapy.

I’m terrified that I’ll always feel this way.

I’m terrified that my manic episodes permanently broke me in fundamental ways.

So, to reiterate:

Depression is terrifying from the inside